Business person holding a briefcase walking in front of a world map.

Members of International Federation of Accountants member bodies

Find out how members of professional accounting bodies that are members of IFAC can gain a Canadian Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA) designation.

IFAC is the global organization for the accountancy profession, dedicated to serving the public interest by strengthening the profession and contributing to the development of strong international economies. It has member and associate bodies in more than 130 countries and jurisdictions, representing almost three million accountants in public practice, education, government service, industry, and commerce. 

For members of IFAC member bodies with whom we do not have a specific agreement, your education and experience are recognized as meeting all CPA prerequisite requirements. Your path to the Canadian CPA designation begins with the CPA Professional Education Program (CPA PEP).


All members in good standing of IFAC member bodies with whom CPA Canada does not have a separate agreement are admitted directly to the professional program at CPA PEP Core 1 module. You are not required to complete any prerequisite courses to be admitted.

The CPA PEP has six modules:

  • If you have an undergraduate degree and a least three years of relevant experience OR no degree and at least eight years of relevant experience, you:
    • may challenge the module examinations for Core 1, Core 2 and two electives
    • must complete the Capstone 1 and Capstone 2 modules
    • must pass the Common Final Examination
  • All others:
    • must begin the CPA PEP at the Core 1 module, with no challenge exam opportunities, and complete the entire education program, including the Common Final Examination

Language Benchmarking

The CPA PEP is a graduate-level academic program requiring a high level of English language proficiency. Success depends on the student’s ability to understand and articulate ideas orally and in written form with detailed descriptions, opinions and explanations. It is strongly recommended that students have achieved a minimum Canadian Language Benchmark of at least Level 8 in reading, writing, comprehension and listening at the time of enrolment, and at least Level 10 upon completion of the program.


Follow these steps to begin the process and determine your specific pathway to the Canadian CPA designation:

  1. Register with the CPA body of the province in which you currently reside or plan to reside.
  2. Meet the practical experience requirements set by your provincial CPA body.
  3. Complete the CPA PEP.
  4. Successfully complete the three-day Common Final Examination.

For more detailed information, contact the provincial body in which you are seeking membership.