SR&ED tax committee

Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada (CPA Canada) advocates for improvements to the Scientific Research and Experimental Development (SR&ED) tax incentive program through its SR&ED Tax Committee.

This committee advocates on behalf of CPAs for sound tax policy and administration related to SR&ED tax credits and other incentives for innovation.

Composed of SR&ED tax advisors from some of Canada’s larger accounting firms, the committee identifies issues regarding the SR&ED program and related policies and provides a forum for engaging with federal and provincial tax authorities and legislators.


Albert De Luca, FCPA, FCA
Partner, National Leader Global R&D and Government Incentives / Tax Deloitte


Carlo Ciaramitaro, CPA, CA, CFP
Partner, Tax, Canadian and Americas R&D Incentives Practice Leader, KPMG LLP


Susan Bishop, CPA, CA
National leader, SR&ED and Business Tax Incentives, Ernst & Young LLP

Ken Douglas, B.Sc.(H), M.Eng., MBA
Principal, SR&ED Tax Services, Grant Thornton LLP

Renée Gallant, FCPA, FCA, M.Fisc.
Managing partner, Gallant & Associés

Michel Lefebvre, CPA, CGA
Partner, Taxation, R&D and Innovation, Raymond Chabot Grant Thornton

Michael C. McCreight, B.Math., CPA, CA
Partner through a professional corporation, National SR&ED Partner, BDO Canada LLP

Jay McLean, CPA, CMA, P.Eng., MBA, BASc.
Partner – National SR&ED Leader, MNP LLP

Shawn D. Reain, CPA, CA
Partner, Tax Services, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP


Gabe Hayos, FCPA, FCA, ICD.D
CPA Canada Tax Policy Committee Chair
Vice-president, Taxation, CPA Canada

William Dobson, CPA, CA
Special advisor, Tax, CPA Canada

Stefan Mihailovich, CPA, CA, B.Comm.
Principal, Professional Learning and Development, CPA Canada

Learn more about the CPA Canada SR&ED Tax Committee terms of reference.


Gain practical organizational insights and learn from industry experts at this annual event for not-for-profit financial leaders.