CPA Canada commodity tax committee

Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada (CPA Canada) advocates for better indirect tax policy and administration in Canada through its CPA Canada Commodity Tax Committee.

This committee gives Canada’s CPAs a voice in influencing indirect tax, customs and trade policy and administration in Canada. Composed of representatives from some of Canada’s larger accounting firms, the committee aims to identify, raise and help resolve commodity tax issues with the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) and Finance Canada.


Sania Ilahi, MBA
Partner, Tax Services, Ernst & Young LLP


Rosemary Anderson, CPA, CA, CCS
National practice group leader, Thorsteinssons LLP

John Bain (past chair)
Partner, KPMG

Rino Bellavia, CPA, CA
Partner, BDO Canada LLP

Danny Cisterna, BMath, CPA, CA
Partner, National leader, Tax, Deloitte Canada

Jean Lanoue, FCPA, FCA
President, Lanoue Taillefer Audet Inc.

Cathy Kuhrt, CPA, CA
Partner, Tax Services, Grant Thornton LLP

Mario Seyer, CPA, CA
Partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Heather Weber, CPA, CGA
Indirect tax services leader, MNP LLP

Staff liaisons

Gabe Hayos, FCPA, FCA, ICD.D
CPA Canada Tax Policy Committee Chair
Vice-president, Taxation, CPA Canada

William Dobson, CPA, CA
Special advisor, Tax, CPA Canada

Vivian Leung, CPA, CA
Program director, Tax Education, CPA Canada

Learn more about the CPA Canada Commodity Tax Committee terms of reference.

Position and response papers


Jointly presented by CPA Canada and CPA Ontario, The ONE is the must-attend, multi-track event of the year, designed for all CPAs who want to be at the top of their game.

Our Firm Directory allows you to search for Canadian CPA firms using our interactive map as well as other criteria.

You’re in the eye of the storm amid a swirl of slips, forms and receipts. Chart your way through tax-time turbulence with these updates and resources.