Accounting | The Profession

CPAs named as finalists for 2019 Canada’s CFO of the Year Award  

The three nominees come from a varied range of industries

A Facebook IconFacebook A Twitter IconTwitter A Linkedin IconLinkedin An Email IconEmail

CFO of the Year nominees: Brad Chapman, Pamela Steer, Erfan KazemiFrom left: Brad Chapman, Pamela Steer and Erfan Kazemi

The three finalists for Canada’s CFO of the Year Award were announced last week—and all of them are CPAs. 

Brad Chapman

Brad Chapman, chief financial officer and vice-president of business development at Centennial College of Applied Arts and Technology, received his CPA designation from CPA Ontario and holds an MBA from York University’s Schulich School of Business.

Before joining Centennial College, Chapman was the vice-president of finance and administration at Toyota Canada Inc. He has also held roles with Novopharm Ltd., Sterling Winthrop Inc., People Jewellers Limited and Holt Renfrew.

Erfan Kazemi

Erfan Kazemi is the CFO at Sandstorm Gold Ltd., a gold streaming company. He earned his CPA designation from CPA British Columbia (CPABC).

Prior to Sandstorm Gold, Kazemi was a senior manager at PricewaterhouseCoopers, working primarily in the mining and forestry areas. He was honoured with an Early Achievement Award from CPABC in 2014 and took a spot on Business in Vancouver’s “Top 40 under 40” list in 2013.

Pamela Steer

Pamela Steer has been the CFO of Workplace Safety and Insurance Board since 2015. She has a Master of Accounting degree from the University of Waterloo and received her CPA designation from CPA Ontario. Pamela also holds the Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) and Chartered Business Valuator (CBV) designations.

Steer is the former CFO of Fusenet Inc. and was vice-president of finance at Redknee Solutions Inc. (now known as Optiva Inc.). She is a member of the Canadian Chapter of the Accounting for Sustainability Project (A4S) CFO Leadership Network, which is run in partnership with CPA Canada, and also sits on its Global Advisory Council.

The CFO of the Year award, which honours senior financial leaders in Canada, is now in its 17th year. In partnership with FEI Canada, PwC Canada and Robert Half, CPA Canada is a proud sponsor of the award. 

Previous winners include CPA Nathalie Bernier from PSP Investments (2018), Air Canada’s Michael Rousseau (2017), RBC’s Janice Fukakusa (2014) and Tim Hortons Inc.’s Cynthia Devine (2010.). 

“Being a CPA definitely opened the door to being a CFO,” Bernier, CFO and senior vice-president, strategic and business planning at PSP Investments, said after her win last year. “And from there, I was able to [do] a lot more than finance: I was involved in strategy, in communication and public relations. So really, the designation helped me to have this great career, very diversified.”

This year’s winner will be announced at the awards gala on April 25 in Toronto.