Natalie Bernier, Russ Jones and Carole Banducci

From left: Nathalie Bernier, Russ Jones and Carol Banducci

Accounting | The Profession

CPAs among finalists for CFO of the Year

Two out of three have background in accounting

A Facebook IconFacebook A Twitter IconTwitter A Linkedin IconLinkedin An Email IconEmail

The three finalists for Canada’s CFO of the Year have been announced—and two of them are CPAs.

Nathalie Bernier

Nathalie Bernier, chief financial officer and senior vice president, strategic and business planning, at PSP Investments, has been a chartered professional accountant since 1988.

Bernier has more than 30 years of experience in finance, including more than 15 at Arthur Andersen. In 2007, she was named managing partner of KPMG’s Québec offices—becoming the first woman in Canada to hold such a role at a professional services firm.

She was named a fellow of the Ordre des comptables professionnels agréés du Québec in 2010.

Russ Jones

Russ Jones, chief financial officer at Shopify Inc., earned his CPA designation while at KPMG. 

Before joining Shopify in 2011, Jones was CFO for BDNA Corp. and Xambala Inc. in Silicon Valley. Prior to that, he was the co-founder of CFO4Results, and held roles with Mitel Corp., Newbridge Networks and Watchfire.

He was elected to the Council of Chartered Professional Accountants of Ontario in 2017.

Carol Banducci

Carol Banducci, executive vice president and CFO of IAMGOLD Corp., is the third finalist.

Previous roles include vice president, financial operations, of Royal Group Technologies as well as CFO of Canadian General-Tower Ltd.

Banducci was named one of Canada’s 100 Most Powerful Women by the Women’s Executive Network in 2015.

The CFO of the Year award, which honours senior financial leaders in Canada, is now in its 16th year. In partnership with FEI Canada, CPA Canada is a proud sponsor of the award. Previous winners include Air Canada’s Michael Rousseau (2017), RBC’s Janice Fukakusa (2014) and Tim Hortons Inc.’s Cynthia Devine (2010.). This year’s winner will be announced at the awards gala on May 17 in Toronto.