CPA Canada tax policy committee welcomes new members

Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada (CPA Canada) welcomes new and returning members to our Tax Policy Committee. Find out who’ll be contributing their experience and expertise to our tax policy work.

The composition of CPA Canada’s Tax Policy Committee (TPC) is changing:

  • Heather Evans is stepping down as head of tax for Deloitte, but we are fortunate that she will remain a member by virtue of her new role as executive director and CEO of the Canadian Tax Foundation (CTF). Heather succeeds Larry Chapman, who is retiring after his extraordinary career as, among other roles, the CTF’s leader and national tax managing partner of PwC.
  • Bryan Brophy is stepping into Heather’s former role as Deloitte’s representative on the TPC. Brian brings over 25 years of tax experience at both Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) and Deloitte to the TPC. A senior partner with Deloitte in Toronto, Brian leads the Deloitte Private Tax practice for Canada and the Greater Toronto area. He is also a member of the firm’s national Board of Directors.
  • Greg Wiebe returns to the committee after completing five years as global head of tax for KPMG International. Greg is returning to his role as head of tax for KPMG in Canada, and so we welcome him back as the firm’s representative on the TPC. Greg succeeds Elio Luongo on the TPC, as Elio assumes the role of chief executive officer and senior partner of KPMG’s Canadian member firm.
  • Lana Paton is joining the TPC in light of her new role as head of tax at PwC. Lana brings more than 20 years of experience in various positions in the firm’s tax practice, and was previously the firm’s energy, utilities, mining and industrial products leader. Lana succeeds Chris Kong, who is moving into a new senior tax role with PwC in the U.S.

We welcome — and welcome back — Heather, Bryan, Greg and Lana. We also thank Larry, Elio and Chris for their outstanding contributions to the TPC over the past several years.