The CPA Competency Map: How to qualify for the Canadian CPA designation

To qualify for the CPA designation, you must demonstrate proficiency in specific technical and enabling competencies.

Get your downloadable electronic copy.

Download Now

The CPA Competency Map describes the knowledge, skills and proficiency levels you must have as a Canadian CPA. The Knowledge Supplement helps post-secondary institutions ensure their programs meet CPA program admission requirements. 

The CPA Competency Map describes in detail the two types of competencies — technical and enabling — that employers in public practice, industry, and government require of accounting professionals. It was specifically designed by a team of education experts in consultation with accounting academics, practitioners and employers to meet those requirements. It lays the groundwork for the CPA certification program, including its education, evaluations, accreditation, and practical experience requirements. 

The CPA Competency Map specifies required subject areas, but not specific course requirements. These are covered in The CPA Competency Map Knowledge Supplement

The technical competencies

  • advanced financial reporting 
  • management accounting 
  • strategy and governance 
  • audit and assurance 
  • finance 
  • taxation 

Financial reporting and management accounting are the key technical competencies, but you must also demonstrate competence in the other four technical areas.

The enabling competencies 

You must also demonstrate competence in these enabling competencies: 

  • professionalism 
  • ethical behaviour 
  • written and oral communication 
  • leadership 
  • problem solving
  • decision-making 

 The new Canadian CPA certification program is a fresh start; it does not simply cobble together the requirements of existing programs. Rather, it ensures that all CPAs will have the strong foundation of knowledge and skill they will need as professional accountants to succeed in whatever role or position they choose.