CPA Professional Education Program: Elective module – Taxation

Learn about the Taxation elective module of the CPA Professional Education Program (CPA PEP).

The CPA PEP’s elective modules provide you with the opportunity to explore your field of interest in greater depth. The objective of the Taxation module is to equip you with the competencies necessary to provide taxation services and guidance, including assisting individual and corporate entities to minimize taxes and meet their objectives while remaining in compliance with tax laws and regulations.

You will:

  • learn to address compliance and tax-planning issues for individuals and corporate entities, with some exposure to partnerships and trusts
  • learn to go beyond presenting the issues and consider the broader circumstances and risk tolerance of all stakeholders involved
  • develop competence in the areas of governance, controls and risk management by exploring the relationship between financial reporting decisions and taxation, and considering the importance of taxes when making business and investment decisions

Please note: If you plan to practise public accounting, you must complete this module.

Evaluation

The Taxation module blueprint provides you with information on what to expect from the examinations, including the weighting placed on the different competencies and the study materials you can use while completing them.

Examples of taxation cases and evaluation guides

These case examples focus on taxation and core finance competencies. The evaluation guides provide solutions to the cases through a variety of assessments.

Dates for taxation module

Winter 2018 session:

  • Module dates: Saturday, January 27 to Friday, March 23
  • 2-day workshop dates: Saturday, February 24 to Sunday, February 25
  • Evaluation date: Wednesday, March 28

Spring 2018 session:

  • Module dates: Saturday, May 5 to Friday, June 29
  • 2-day workshop dates: Saturday, June 2 to Sunday, June 3
  • Evaluation date: Wednesday, July 4

Summer 2018 session:

  • Module dates: Saturday, July 28 to Friday, September 21
  • 2-day workshop dates: Saturday, August 25 to Sunday, August 26
  • Evaluation date: Wednesday, September 26

Fall 2018 session:

  • Module dates: Saturday, October 20 to Friday, December 14
  • 2-day workshop dates: Saturday, November 17 to Sunday, November 18
  • Evaluation date: Thursday, December 20

Winter 2019 session:

  • Module dates: Saturday, January 26 to Friday, March 22
  • 2-day workshop dates: Saturday, February 23 to Sunday, February 24
  • Evaluation date: Wednesday, March 27

Spring 2019 session:

  • Module dates: Saturday May 4 to Friday, June 28
  • 2-day workshop dates: Saturday, June 1 to Sunday, June 2
  • Evaluation date: Wednesday, July 3

Summer 2019 session:

  • Module dates: Saturday, July 27 to Friday, September 20
  • 2-day workshop dates: Saturday, August 24 to Sunday, August 25
  • Evaluation date: Wednesday, September 25

Fall 2019 session:

  • Module dates: Saturday, October 19 to Friday, December 13
  • 2-day workshop dates: Saturday, November 16 to Sunday, November 17
  • Evaluation date: Thursday, December 19

Please contact your provincial/regional CPA body to see if these offerings are available in your area.