CPA Professional Education Program: Core 2 module

Learn about the Core 2 module of the CPA Professional Education Program (CPA PEP).

The CPA PEP begins with two mandatory core modules in which you build the enabling and technical competencies required of a professional accountant. The objective of the Core 2 module is for you to develop competence in the areas of governance, strategy, risk management and management decision-making. You will also gain an appreciation for the role of corporate governance, learn how to formulate deliberate and emergent strategies and translate those strategies into specific objectives and actions.

Core 2 focuses on:

  • management accounting
  • developing competencies in the areas of:
    • governance
    • strategy
    • risk management
    • management decision-making

Evaluation

The core modules blueprint provides you with information on what to expect from these examinations, including the weighting placed on the different competencies and the study materials you can use while completing them.

Examples of Core 2 Cases and Evaluation Guides

This case example focuses mainly on management accounting competencies and builds on the entry level and Core 1 competencies. The evaluation guide provides the solution to the case through a variety of assessment opportunities.

Dates for the Core 2 module

Spring 2018 session:

  • Module dates: Saturday, May 5 to Friday, June 29
  • 2-day workshop dates: Saturday, June 16 to Sunday, June 17
  • Evaluation date: Wednesday, July 4

Summer 2018 session:

  • Module dates: Saturday, July 28 to Friday, September 21
  • 2-day workshop dates: Saturday, September 8 to Sunday, September 9
  • Evaluation date: Wednesday, September 26

Fall 2018 session:

  • Module dates: Saturday, October 20 to Friday, December 14
  • 2-day workshop dates: Saturday, December 1 to Sunday, December 2
  • Evaluation date: Thursday, December 20

Winter 2019 session:

  • Module dates: Saturday, January 26 to Friday, March 22
  • 2-day workshop dates: Saturday, March 9 to Sunday March 10
  • Evaluation date: Wednesday, March 27

Spring 2019 session:

  • Module dates: Saturday, May 4 to Friday, June 28
  • 2-day workshop dates: Saturday, June 15 to Sunday, June 16
  • Evaluation date: Wednesday, July 3

Summer 2019 session:

  • Module dates: Saturday, July 27 to Friday, September 20
  • 2-day workshop dates: Saturday, September 7 to Sunday, September 8
  • Evaluation date: Wednesday, September 25

Fall 2019 session:

  • Module dates: Saturday, October 19 to Friday, December 13
  • 2-day workshop dates: Saturday, November 30 to Sunday, December 1
  • Evaluation date: Thursday, December 19

Please contact your provincial/regional CPA body to see if these offerings are available in your area.