CPA Professional Education Program: Core 2 module

Learn about the Core 2 module of the CPA Professional Education Program (CPA PEP).

The CPA PEP begins with two mandatory core modules in which you build the enabling and technical competencies required of a professional accountant. The objective of the Core 2 module is for you to develop competence in the areas of governance, strategy, risk management and management decision-making. You will also gain an appreciation for the role of corporate governance, learn how to formulate deliberate and emergent strategies and translate those strategies into specific objectives and actions.

Core 2 focuses on:

  • management accounting
  • developing competencies in the areas of:
    • governance
    • strategy
    • risk management
    • management decision-making

Evaluation

The core modules blueprint (updated January 2017) provides you with information on what to expect from these examinations, including the weighting placed on the different competencies and the study materials you can use while completing them.

Examples of Core 2 cases

A core case runs up to 60 minutes in length and assesses cross-competency integration, problem-solving and communication.

  • Mamma Jill’s Pizza: This example draws on prerequisite Core 1 and Core 2 competencies. It is the kind of case that would be used at the end of Core 2.
  • Fence Company Ltd.: This example requires candidates to assume the role of a business advisor and tests management accounting concepts in a small business environment. Updated March 2017.

Dates for the Core 2 module

Spring 2017 session:

  • Module dates: Saturday, May 6 to Friday, June 30
  • 2-day workshop dates: Saturday, June 17 to Sunday, June 18
  • Evaluation date: Friday, July 7

Summer 2017 session:

  • Module dates: Saturday, July 29 to Friday, September 22
  • 2-day workshop dates: Saturday, September 9 to Sunday, September 10
  • Evaluation date: Friday, September 29

Fall 2017 session:

  • Module dates: Saturday, October 21 to Friday, December 15
  • 2-day workshop dates: Saturday, December 2 to Sunday, December 3
  • Evaluation date: Thursday, December 21

Winter 2018 session:

  • Module dates: Saturday, January 27 to Friday, March 23
  • 2-day workshop dates: Saturday, March 10 to Sunday, March 11
  • Evaluation date: Wednesday, March 28

Spring 2018 session:

  • Module dates: Saturday, May 5 to Friday, June 29
  • 2-day workshop dates: Saturday, June 17 to Sunday, June 17
  • Evaluation date: Wednesday, July 4

Summer 2018 session:

  • Module dates: Saturday, July 28 to Friday, September 21
  • 2-day workshop dates: Saturday, September 7 to Sunday, September 8
  • Evaluation date: Wednesday, September 26

Fall 2018 session:

  • Module dates: Saturday, October 20 to Friday, December 14
  • 2-day workshop dates: Saturday, December 1 to Sunday, December 2
  • Evaluation date: Thursday, December 20

Please contact your provincial/regional CPA body to see if these offerings are available in your area.