CPA Professional Education Program: Core 1 module

Learn about the Core 1 module of the CPA Professional Education Program (CPA PEP).

The CPA PEP begins with two mandatory core modules in which you build the enabling and technical competencies required of a professional accountant. The objective of the Core 1 module is to provide you with a complete understanding of the most fundamental concepts in financial accounting and reporting, as well as an introduction to technically complex accounting issues.

Core 1 focuses on:

  • financial accounting
  • reporting
  • assurance
  • taxation
  • finance

Evaluation

The core modules blueprint (updated January 2017) provides you with information on what to expect from these examinations, including the weighting placed on the different competencies and the study materials you can use while completing them.

Example of Core 1 case

A core case runs up to 60 minutes in length and assesses cross-competency integration, problem-solving and communication:

  • Atomic Excellence Inc.: This example focuses on financial reporting and assurance competencies and draws on entry-level learning.

Dates for the Core 1 module

Fall 2017 session:

  • Module dates: Saturday, October 21 to Friday, December 15
  • Orientation workshop dates: Saturday, October 21 to Sunday, October 22
  • 2-day workshop dates: Saturday, November 25 to Sunday, November 26
  • Evaluation date: Wednesday, December 20

Winter 2018 session:

  • Module dates: Saturday, January 27 to Friday, March 23
  • Orientation workshop dates: Saturday, January 27 to Sunday, January 28
  • 2-day workshop dates: Saturday, March 3 to Sunday, March 4
  • Evaluation date: Thursday, March 29

Spring 2018 session:

  • Module dates: Saturday, May 5 to Friday, June 29
  • Orientation workshop dates: Saturday, May 5 to Sunday, May 6
  • 2-day workshop dates: Saturday, June 9 to Sunday, June 10
  • Evaluation date: Thursday, July 5

Summer 2018 session:

  • Module dates: Saturday, July 28 to Friday, September 21
  • Orientation workshop dates: Saturday, July 28 to Sunday, July 29
  • 2-day workshop dates: Saturday, August 31 to Sunday, September 1
  • Evaluation date: Thursday, September 27

Fall 2018 session:

  • Module dates: Saturday, October 20 to Friday, December 14
  • Orientation workshop dates: Saturday, October 20 to Sunday, October 21
  • 2-day workshop dates: Saturday, November 24 to Sunday, November 25
  • Evaluation date: Wednesday, December 19

Winter 2019 session:

  • Module dates: Saturday, January 26 to Friday, March 22
  • Orientation workshop dates: Saturday, January 26 to Sunday, January 27
  • 2-day workshop dates: Saturday, March 2 to Sunday, March 3
  • Evaluation date: Thursday, March 28

Spring 2019 session:

  • Module dates: Saturday, May 4 to Friday, June 28
  • Orientation workshop dates: Saturday, May 4 to Sunday, May 5
  • 2-day workshop dates: Saturday, June 8 to Sunday, June 9
  • Evaluation date: Thursday, July 4

Summer 2019 session:

  • Evaluation date: Thursday, September 26 (eligible candidates only)

Fall 2019 session:

  • Module dates: Saturday, October 19 to Friday, December 13
  • Orientation workshop dates: Saturday, October 19 to Sunday, October 20
  • 2-day workshop dates: Saturday, November 23 to Sunday, November 24
  • Evaluation date: Wednesday, December 18

Please contact your provincial/regional CPA body to see if these offerings are available in your area.